Post by Pearl Harbor Pete on Jun 17, 2018 14:16:06 GMT
I have played the A&A board game longer than the miniature game. We had a "House rule" that you could carry 1 Infantry (Paratrooper) on a Bomber (original Series) and then the same using only Tactical Bomber's with the newer versions. Has anyone else done this? Any thoughts on what it does (or would do) to the unsettle the game? As an aside wonder if D-Day Board Game A&A version has this option? I have never seen nor played this version. Any insight is appreciated.
Post by Capt. Strange on Jun 22, 2018 13:52:02 GMT
That's an actual rule in the old "World at War" upgrade/expansion from Xeno games.
In the literally hundreds of A&A games (of various stripes) I have played it doesn't unbalance anything and frankly is one of those things that sounds super cool/useful when in actuality it's not worth the cost in IPCs and rarely can you hold the territitories to gain some sort of strategic advantage.
Post by Pearl Harbor Pete on Jul 1, 2018 13:29:00 GMT
Thanks everyone! I did find the technology upgrade rule in the new version of the 1940's game I had just gotten after I had posted this question. I am interested now in the D-Day and Guadalcanal versions of the game... better start saving my pennies. The only time it came in handy for me was when Britain forgot about the rule and left their capital undefended and Germany "dropped" in as it were. Germany still lost the game but it was scary for a while.