yes, there are no zones when you put obstacles. Only the objective and its limitation.
Early rules, some obsoletes: -Obstacles count against both your 100 points and your 15 units. Once placed on the map, however, they don't 'belong' to either side.
-Lundoner 06-04-2006, 06:28 PM I'm a bit confused by a response to an earlier post by XAos on the question of placement of barbed wire around the objective hex. The diagram shown in response has barbed wire in hexes adjacent to the objective. I thought a rule for obstacles was that: "obstacles can't be placed in hexes adjacent to the objective..."
Can barbed wire be placed in hexes adjacent to the objective, as long as it's not on the hex edge of the objective??
Y2UAsk 06-05-2006, 08:48 AM Barbed wire isn't placed 'in' a hex, it's placed on hexsides. The restriction in that case is against placing obstacles "on hex edges that surround the hex that contains the objective."
-Barbed Wire in Multiple Hexes? nlentz88 06-13-2006, 12:30 PM You could have up to three Barbed Wire pieces surrounding a single hex. (Actually, I suppose you could have six if you placed them so that each one had one 'leg' pointing away from the hex.
This statement (http://boards.avalonhill.com/showthread.php?t=12475) confuses me. The rules for obstacles state, "[obstacles] ...are limited to one per hex and one per hex edge." Also, "You can put a Barbed Wire on a hex edge that surrounds a hex that contains another obstacle, as long as that hex isn't the objective." Also, the stat card for Barbed Wire reads, "Fortifications can be placed in any hex that isn't adjacent to the objective."
So if you're limited to placing Barbed Wire in one and only one hex (i.e. not deploying along two hex edges in two different hexes, crossing a hex edge), how could you use three Barbed Wire pieces to completely surround a hex? If each BW piece can only be deployed in one and only one hex, then I see the minimum being five BW pieces to completely surround a hex, one in the center hex covering two hex edges and four more in adjacent hexes covering the remaining four hex edges.
Or can one Barbed Wire piece be deployed to cover two different hex edges in two different hexes? Is this the first unit in A&AM that can occupy two different hexes at the same time (I guess the Higgins Boat could have been first too)?
Y2UAsk 06-14-2006, 08:56 AM There seem to be some misunderstandings in your question. 1. Like streams and bridges, Barbed Wire is never considered to be 'in' any particular hex. It sits on a hex side. Those two situations are entirely different within the rules. 2. A Barbed Wire piece always covers two hexsides (the bend in the piece sits at a hex vertex). It's impossible to place Barbed Wire in such a way that it borders only one hex. Geometry dictates that a Barbed Wire piece must always sit on the border of three hexes -- two sides of one hex and one side each of two other hexes. 3. Because each Barbed Wire piece covers two hex sides of one hex, three such pieces placed around a single hex cover all six sides.
-Minefields and Tank Obstacles protevangelium 07-07-2006, 10:26 PM According to the text on both of these cards, it says nothing about restricting said obstacles to only land hexes. Is it okay to place both of these units in water hexes, namely to obstruct the path of amphibious-ability vehicles?
Y2UAsk 07-08-2006, 10:26 AM Yes. Any hex is legal, as long as it meets the restrictions on the card and on the D-Day rules insert. There's no prohibition against water hexes. Steve
-Placement of Minefields and empty hexes ShermanShermanSherman 07-27-2006, 09:53 PM the placement of minefields in empty hexes
What defines an empty hex? I assume that it is different to a clear hex as defined in the rules
I expect an empty hex to not contain any units (friendly or enemy), nor the objective or any other Obstacles Is this correct?
Are hexes with say forest or mountain terrain on them considered empty (but not clear) so i could setup a minefield in say a forest hex and not just in Clear hexes
Basically can i setup minefields in cover hexes?
(And if you can do water hexes have different rules for this?)
Y2UAsk 07-28-2006, 08:51 AM Your interpretation is correct. Empty = containing no units or obstacles, regardless of terrain. Water hexes are legal but would be pointless in all but a few cases.
Strokin_100 09-19-2006, 10:40 AM Can you set up 2 barbed wires in one hex?
Y2UAsk 09-19-2006, 11:45 AM Technically, they don't go 'in' the hex, they go on the hexsides. But yes, you can set up three Barbed Wire pieces so they completely enclose a single hex.
-minefields and friendly units
boersma8 10-07-2006, 08:10 AM I suppose FRIENDLY units are also subject to (possibly) becoming disrupted when entering or ending either the movement or assault phases in a minefield hex. Correct?
Y2UAsk 10-10-2006, 11:08 AM Correct. Once an obstacle or fortification is placed on the map, it no longer belongs to either side. Minefields, Barbed Wire, and Tank Obstacles affect every unit equally, and any Soldier from either side can occupy an empy Pillbox. Steve