Brush [light green trees] double cost for vehicles with wheels , cover for soldier and vehicles, and block LOS. Plowed Fields (E1, E2, E3, F1-F2, G1-G2, H1, I1): Open terrain of fresh-tilled or muddy fields that inhibit tracked vehicle movement. Wheeled vehicles are prohibited.
-Traps Since Traps represent hazards that are hidden and not obvious, they aren't deployed during normal deployment. During your assault phase, you can place a Trap in any unoccupied hex that isn't adjacent to the objective.
Nothing has changed in that regard. Mines are still Obstacle: Traps. The rules for deploying traps were removed from the cards, but they haven't changed from what's printed on the rules insert for the D-Day set (my image) WotC_Huscarl Steve
XAos Senior Member Minefield & Aircraft ________________________________________ The minefield says "whenever a unit enter or ends a move in this hex" Can you confirm that "Units" do not include aircraft. ?
Y2UAsk Aircraft are units. They do not, however, 'enter' hexes or 'end movement'. They are simply placed in a hex, so they don't meet the conditions of the Minefield card. Steve
Sharpe God Save Ireland! The card says that a player must roll when a unit enters a minefield and when it ends its move there. In the movement phase, I move a Gurkha into a minefield hex. I roll a die and avoid disruption. Must I roll again at the end of the same phase?
We are playing that there is a maximum of one minefield roll per unit per phase per hex entry. We assume that the "end of the phase" applies to units that begin the phase in the minefield and don't move. Is this correct?
In the assault phase, I have an undisrupted unit in a minefield. The unit attacks. Since it did not end its move there, do I roll for mines?
Please add any further clarification that you think will help.
08-21-2006, 09:01 AM Some months ago, there was discussion here to change the wording of that special ability slightly. The wording that was settled on was
Minefield — Whenever a unit enters a hex containing this Obstacle, or ends its movement phase or assault phase in a hex containing this Obstacle, the unit's controller rolls a die. On a 3 or less, put a face-up Disrupted counter on that unit.I see that this wording has not yet been posted in the Important Clarifications thread (we'll get on that), but it doesn't actually change anything about how minefields work. It just clarifies one aspect (which should become obvious in a moment).
Here are the details on how minefields work. A unit must roll when it enters; it must roll at the end of both the movement and assault phases (but not the initiative phase, flight phase, airstrike phase, casualty phase, or end of turn phase) regardless of whether it moved that phase; during the phase when a unit enters a minefield, it must roll immediately upon entering and again at the end of the phase if it's still in the minefield; at the end of a phase, a unit with the Demolitions special ability (currently only the Royal Engineers) gets to make a die roll to remove the mines -- this happens either before or after the roll for disruption, at the option of the player controlling the Royal Engineers (per the Multiple Actions rule on page 12 of the rulebook). Steve
-Canuck_Captain 09-06-2006, 05:32 AM when you have a tank trap or minefield on a forest hex, if the enemy tries to move in the hex and theres a tank trap there does he have to roll twice to get in?
and if there was a minefield he would roll to get in and then roll the minefield to see if he was disrupted correct? ________________________________________ Y2UAsk 09-06-2006, 09:34 AM 1. Yes. 2. Correct. Steve
-How long do minefield effects last? ________________________________________ Tripwire 09-17-2006, 03:47 PM Scenario: unit moves into minefield hex, 1-3 is rolled, unit receives face-up disruption. Question 1- after all other units move, that is, at the end of the movement phase, is the disrupted unit rolled for again? Question 2- if the disrupted unit receives a second face-up disrupted because of the minefield (second 1-3 roll after movement phase is over), is it destroyed instead (infantry)? Question 3- does a unit in a minefield at the end of the assault phase receive a 1-3 roll? If so, does a face-up disrupted it received as a result of a minefield roll get immediately removed during the casualty phase?
The main query is, does the minefield do any damage of its own, or does it simply make it easier for an attacking unit to damage/destroy another unit? ________________________________________ Y2UAsk 09-18-2006, 08:46 AM 1. There's no point in rolling a second time, because a second face-up disruption marker has no additional effect. Face-up markers don't stack the way face-down hit counters do. 2. See 1. 3. Technically, a unit in a minefield at the end of Player 2's assault phase should roll for disruption, but the roll will have no effect because a face-up disruption marker would be removed in the casualty phase anyway. 4. Disruption, whether it happens from a minefield or any other attack, prevents the unit from moving, gives it a penalty on its attack dice, and lowers its defense. Steve
-Minefield_Tank obstacle_forest ________________________________________ ishgon 10-16-2006, 12:52 PM Not so newie but stills here.... On map 4 are 2 forest lines of three hexes and to prevent my enemy crosses throught them i put there a tank obtacle on each of the forest hexes edges between the two clusters and after that a mine field in front of the tank obtacle. My new question is the next one: if my enemy dares and manages to cross the minefield and the tank obtacles that are on same hex but fails crossing/entering the forest hex she has to roll again for each obtacle on hex she is trying to left? and if disrupted by minefield, has to finish its move in front of the forest hex she tried to enter or on a legal empty hex supposing she did not manage to succes tank obtacle roll?
MM MM MM XXX XXX XXX FFF FFF FFF FFFFF FFFFF FFFF M = minefield same hex that tanks obtacles X = tanks obtacles f= forests hexes ________________________________________ Y2UAsk 10-16-2006, 03:20 PM 1. If a Vehicle makes a successful movement roll to enter a hex containing a tank obstacle but then fails a movement roll to enter forest, it stops in the hex containing the tank obstacle. It doesn't need to make another roll to LEAVE the tank obstacle hex, but it does need to make a movement roll to enter the forest. If it decides to enter a clear hex instead of the forest, then no movement roll is needed. 2. If a Vehicle enters a minefield and makes a successful roll to not be disrupted by the mines but then fails a movement roll to enter forest, it stops in the minefield hex. It needs to make another roll to avoid being disrupted by the mines at the end of each movement phase and assault phase until it leaves the hex. 3. You can't place a minefield and a tank obstacle (or a pillbox) together in the same hex. A hex can have only one obstacle -- a minefield OR a tank obstacle OR a pillbox. In your example, it sounds as if you put a minefield AND a tank obstacle in the same hex. That's not allowed.
-Unit Limit? and a couple mine questions. ________________________________________ frogczar 01-16-2007, 08:38 AM Hello, I recently got into the game and I really love it! I've been looking for a game like this for a while and AAM really satisfied my search!
I have a couple questions that perhaps someone can answer for me:
1. What is this "Unit limit of 15" that I see people post about? I can find no official unit limit in the DCI tournament rules. Is this a house rule?
Why would one want to impose such a limit, I've found forces even completely composed of large numbers of infantry to be reasonably balanced for the game.
2. Mines. This obstacle states that "any unit entering or ending its move in a hex containing a minefield..." Does this include aircraft? That seems ridiculous yet an aircraft is a "unit".
Also, does this include units that can't move at all? For example a 88mm Flak 36? Or a sandbagged machine gun? ________________________________________ Y2UAsk 01-16-2007, 10:45 AM 1. What is this "Unit limit of 15" that I see people post about? I can find no official unit limit in the DCI tournament rules. Is this a house rule? It's a standard game rule -- see page 10 of the rulebook, "Building an Army."
Why would one want to impose such a limit, I've found forces even completely composed of large numbers of infantry to be reasonably balanced for the game.It's basically for tournament play, where there's a one-hour time limit per game. More units mean more playing time. In casual games with your friends, you can do whatever you want.
2. Mines. This obstacle states that "any unit entering or ending its move in a hex containing a minefield..." Does this include aircraft? That seems ridiculous yet an aircraft is a "unit".Aircraft don't "move." They are just placed and then removed. So no, it doesn't apply to Aircraft.
Also, does this include units that can't move at all? For example a 88mm Flak 36? Or a sandbagged machine gun?Because of the way mines are placed (they can't be placed in a hex that contains any other unit), it's impossible for a Sandbagged MG to ever be in the same hex with a minefield. An 88 could get there if it started aboard transport and then dismounted into the minefield. In that case, the 88 would be subject to mine attack once every movement and assault phase.
-lundoner Member Obstacle Questions ________________________________________ 1. Minefields are now deployed at the beginning of the game before any units are placed. If your opponent places a minefield in your starting area and you deploy your Ammo Dump or HQ in the same hex, since Ammo Dumps and HQs "can't move", does that mean they are not affected by the minefield? Jolly-Roger Member Hmmm...interesting loophole. I'd like to see this answer...might change my tactics...lol
Snip AH_Colonel_Coo Member
Remember that obsticles are placed by both sides prior to placing the rest of the units.
Ends movement has meant at end of turn where you could move.
lundoner Member It seems to me minefields work on movement; "whenever a unit ends its move in or leaves..." So, if deployed or after entering and remaining in the hex the next turn without moving, the minefields don't effect the unit.
I'm somewhat happy with the new deployment rules of the minefields. You can no longer surprise your opponent by surrounding his tank with mines. However, now you can fill his starting area with mines......... Strokin_100 Member If you dismount a solider in a minefield hex does the soldier have to roll? AH_Colonel_Coo Member At the end of the soldiers movement he rolls.
Strokin_100 Member Another question: Since paratroopers are "deployed" at the "end of the movement phase" can you deploy the paratrooper into a hex containing a mine and not have to make a roll? Strokin_100 Member I think the ammo, HQ & fuel must roll each movement.
I like that mines are deployed in the deployment phase now. However setting them in an opponents starting area is way to unfair. If you win the roll and deploy first, you could drop partisans in and up to 5 mines in a 100 point game. Imagine playing bigger games.
lundoner Member I guess it boils down to interpretation. Do mines affect units on moving, either in or out, OR, do mines affect units at the end of the "movement phase" ? So, that if a unit stays in the hex with the mine and doesn't move, will the unit have to make a roll at the end of the phase?
Deployment has never been considered movement. WotC_Huscarl Obey My Dog!
The phrasing on that card is somewhat misleading. "Ends its move" should be "ends its movement phase." I'll add this to the update document. Steve
-AH_boersma8 King Tiger Minefield- leaving the hex ________________________________________ Minefield When you roll for a unit attempting to leave a minefield and the result is face-up disruption, does it get the counter IN the minefield hex or does it still manage to leave the minefield and it is then disrupted in the adjacent hex? AH_Colonel_Coo Member Stays in the Minefield
AH_capttom Jr. member So it has to re-roll to get out of the minefield then?