I dont know exactly if you can use Grazing Fire against SA Superior Camuflauge. What exactly means in other words "EVERY ELIGIBLE UNIT". is the sniper eligible? Is not the same example with "Blast". Sgt. Fury QA: A: Grazing fire doesn't distinguish between friendly and enemy units. It also doesn't allow you to pick which hexes are affected. If you use grazing fire, you must attack every eligible unit including your own in the line of fire. This is an exception to the standard rule that you only attack enemy units.
I have find same example with a sniper and a Machine Gun.
BarthonisGiantslaye Thanks for the answer/clarification Steve. One more question if I may.....
Last night we had a situation where a MG used grazing fire, and in the hexadjacent to the target hex among other things there was a sniper that was camoflagued. Normally the machine gun couldnt not have targeted it at the range it was at, but I suggested that it could with grazing fire, because you attack all the units, friendly and enemy, that are in the adjacent hex along the line of sight. Was this correct, or should he not have taken a shot at the "hidden" sniper with his machine gun? ~Bart
P.S. As a real-world Army machine-gunner in my earlier life....let me explain what grazing fire is in reality. you have your machinegun mounted on a tripod, and you have two wheels/dials/knobs. one for elevation, one for traversing. when you do grazing fire, you start with your barrel pointed downrange on one side of your field of fire, and you turn the traverse wheel/knob/dial to the other side. your barrel stays at the same elevation, but it goes from "left-to-right" or "right-to-left" for lack of deeper explanation. There is more to it, but thats the simplified version. Or if you like, you can imagine that you're Jonny Rambo, firing from the hip with your M-60 and as you sweep the barrel from left to right one-handed with the ammo belt laid across your wrist and forearm of your other hand (which coincidentally would RIP your skin and flesh from your wrist and forearm as the belt spun around it). Stupid Hollywood. but I digress...hope that gives you an idea of what grazing fire really is and how it works.
And I believe you already eluded to this, but I also want to be clear on this because I have seen conflicting answers in other places, and when it comes to AAM answers Steve....you da man!!!!!
Now that I got the brown-nosing outta the way, here's my question:
If a unit is making grazing fire, are airplanes subject to grazing fire if they are in a legal hex that would take grazing fire? I believe you have stated before that any units in the eligible hexes would be subject to the grazing fire, so if an airplane is in either the target hex, or an adjacent hex along the line of sight, then the airplane should be subject to grazing fire. Is this correct?
WotC_Huscarl The sniper would be attacked, the same as if the hex was hit by a Blast weapon.
Clearly, there needs to be an exception for aircraft. They're not included as grazing fire targets, and you can't use grazing fire if the target of the first attack was an aircraft. I've added that to the clarifications.