Our group played an interesting fight last night involving a landing operation, and long distance carrier op's. I was wondering does Draw the Cap on the Devastator, pull all the fighters on Cap, or just until it is destroyed or aborted (assuming fighters attack it one at a time). We have always played declaring what planes are doing what before we roll the dice. No one in as ever pulled out the Devastator till last night, and boy was it a game changer the way we play. The odd man out of our group was acting as Judge for the other 3 sets of fights, and in the 1st fight, Todd ( guy who was odd man out for this round, we had 7 folks playing) ruled that it pulls all the fighters on CAP. What is the correct ruling/ how should we have done it? Sad when you have a group that is playing the game for years cann't agree on a unit from the 1st set, that had never seen much if any use.
DRAW THE CAP - At the end of the Air Mission phase, if this unit is in the same sector as an enemy Fighter, roll a die. On a 4 or higher, enemy fighters must attack this unit in the Air Defense phase if able. (TBD Devastator)
Note the "if able" at the end of the SA. Enemy fighters in the same sector must attack the Devastator until it is destroyed or aborted. After that the remaining fighters are not able to attack the Devastator and are free to attack elsewhere.
In most cases you only have to declare a target for an attack when you are ready to make the individual attack. The rules do not require you to specify a target for attacks in advance. You can switch between units as well. A few SA's require you to specify if the aircraft is being deployed as a bomber or a fighter (etc) when you place the unit. Other than that, a player is not required to specify an attack order in advance. So if the first (or second etc) fighter destroys or aborts the Devastator, the remaining fighters are freed up to attack other targets.
One way around that would be to attack the Devastator with a ship that is in the sector first. If the ship can at least abort the Devastator then all of your fighters will be free to attack other units. It just depends on which order of attacks is most advantageous for you.
Our biggest mistake is that we have everyone declare what they are attacking before any dice are thrown. So the argument was that Draw the Cap required fighters to attack it. I was thumped since we had doubled all carrier capacities, and were playing our "grey navy rules" ( requirces each force to have a variety of countries... we like to had a bit of flavor, seeing all sorts of plane combos was a blast). But having 4 groups of fighters going after that single devestor was silly, but sure made game interesting to try and amphib. operation w/ out any air cover. Thanks everyone for the rules imput.